Faculty and Staff

Academic Faculty

Garry Auld, Ph.D., R.D
Professor

Community and nutrition education programs; program evaluation (quantitative and qualitative); sustainable food system issues; interventions and assessments of limited resource audiences

105 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7429
garry.auld@colostate.edu
Gary Auld
John S. (Jack) Avens, Ph.D.
Professor

Food safety; food microbiology.

214A Gifford Building
(970) 491-6579
jack.avens@colostate.edu
John Avens
Susan Baker, Ed.D.
Professor/Extension Specialist EFNEP

Community nutrition education; breastfeeding promotion and support, food resource management, food security, limited resource families (EFNEP), pregnant adolescents.

102 Gifford Building
(970) 491-5798
susan.baker@colostate.edu
Susan Baker
Laura Bellows, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D.
Associate Professor

Nutrition education; public health nutrition; childhood obesity; early childhood audiences; health promotion and disease prevention; and physical activity.

107 Gifford Building
(970) 491-1305
laura.bellows@colostate.edu
Laura Bellows
Marisa Bunning, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Extension Specialist, Food Safety

Food safety communication; post-harvest produce safety and quality; consumer food handling behavior.

200B Gifford Building
(970) 491-7180
marisa.bunning@colostate.edu
Marisa Bunning
Colleen Burke
Instructor

110 Gifford Building
(970) 491-1783
colleen.burke@colostate.edu
Colleen Burke
Leslie Cunningham-Sabo, Ph.D., R.D
Associate Professor

Public health nutrition, food behavior change of children and adults through cooking, minority populations, community-based participatory research, translation of research to practice.

106 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6791
leslie.cunningham-sabo@colostate.edu
Leslie Cunningham-Sabo
Michelle T. Foster, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Adipose tissue regulation (metabolic and adipokine); diet-induced obesity and hepatic steatosis; visceral fatty acids and insulin resistance; adipose tissue removal-induced metabolic improvements.

207 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6189
michelle.foster@colostate.edu
Michelle Foster
Bill Franz, Ph.D., P.H.R.
Assistant Professor

Hospitality Management

214D Gifford Building
(970) 491-3890
bill.franz@colostate.edu
Bill Franz
Christopher L. Gentile, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Dietary regulation of cardiovascular function. Mechanisms of diet-induced cardiovascular abnormalities.

208 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7416
christopher.gentile@colostate.edu
Christopher Gentile
Mary Harris, Ph.D., R.D.
Professor

Lipid metabolism, omega-3 fatty acids in pregnancy and cognitive development. Clinical Nutrition: Diabetes and kidney disease.

231 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7462
mary.harris@colostate.edu
Mary Harris
Sarah A. Johnson, PhD, RD
Assistant Professor

Functional foods, bioactive compounds, dietary supplements, and other dietary interventions that can effectively prevent and/or improve both established and emerging risk factors.

206 Gifford Building
(970) 491-3807
sarah.johnson@colostate.edu
Sarah Johnson
Soo Kang, Ph.D. C.H.E.
Associate Professor

Hospitality marketing, consumer behavior

214E Gifford Building
(970) 491-0293
soo.kang@colostate.edu
Soo Kang
Chris Melby, Dr. P.H.
Professor

Interaction of nutrition and exercise on features of the metabolic syndrome; energy balance and body weight regulation.

226 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6736
chris.melby@colostate.edu
Chris Melby
Eric Milholland, Ph.D.
Instructor

214B Gifford Building
(970) 491-5127
eric.milholland@colostate.edu
Eric Milholland
Jeffrey Miller, Ph.D., C.E.C., C.C.E.
Associate Professor and Program Coordinator Hospitality Management

Food and identity; food and the human voice; heritage tourism; hospitality education; food service management; sustainable food initiatives.

214C Gifford Building
(970) 491-6705
jeffrey.miller@colostate.edu
Jeffrey Miller
Mike Pagliassotti, Ph.D.
Department Head, Professor and Lillian Fountain Smith Endowed Chair in Nutrition

Dietary nutrients, obesity and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease; lipids and endoplasmic reticulum stress; fructose and hepatic insulin resistance.

234A Gifford Building
(970) 491-1390
michael.pagliassotti@colostate.edu
Mike Pagliassotti
David Sampson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

International Nutrition

227 Gifford Building
(970) 491-5234
david.sampson@colostate.edu
David Sampson
Martha Stone, Ph.D.
Professor

Food product development, cereal grains.

229 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6772
martha.stone@colostate.edu
Martha Stone
Melissa Wdowik, Ph.D., R.D.
Assistant Professor and Director of the Kendall Reagan Nutrition Center

108 Gifford Building
(970) 491-1062
melissa.wdowik@colostate.edu
Melissa Wdowik
Tiffany Weir, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Effects of dietary components on gut microflora composition, microbial metabolism of plant compounds, fermented foods, intestinal health, food safety

210 Gifford Building
(970) 491-4631
tiffany.weir@colostate.edu
Tiffany Weir